The United States Department of Energy (DOE) represents an executive authority concerned with the United States’ policies regarding energy and safety in handling nuclear material. In 1970 the Atomic Energy Commission transferred into the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (US NRC), which was tasked with promoting the peaceful uses of nuclear energy, and the Department of Energy, which regulates the nuclear weapons-related activities and manages energy development programs.The US Department of Energy’s primary functions are:
  • Production of nuclear reactors;
  • Power generation;
  • Manufacturing nuclear weapons;
  • Radioactive waste management.
There are several large scientific laboratories in possession of the US Department of Energy:
  • Argonne National Laboratory;
  • Brookhaven National Laboratory;
  • Los Alamos National Laboratory;
  • Oak Ridge National Laboratory;
  • Pacific Northwest National Laboratory;
  • Sandia National Laboratory;
  • Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory;
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory;
The United States Department of Energy                                                                                    www.energy.gov